Mississippi State University

HomeWorkshops and Conferences


Japan-United States Coordinating Study Group on East-Central Europe
Meeting III:  Kyoto, Japan
November 21-22, 1991

Organized by:
Center for International Security and Strategic Studies, Mississippi State University

Sponsored by:
United States-Japan Foundation



  • Chair:  Ambassador Nobuo Matsunaga, Former Ambassador of Japan to the United States, Director of the Japan Institute of International Affairs
  • Dr. Yutaka Akino, Associate Professor, Institute of Social Sciences, Tsukuba University
  • Mr. Yoshinori Kobayashi, Director, International Department, The Japan Development Bank
  • Mr. Kanji Yamada, General Manager, Project Promotion Division, Japan International Development Organization, Ltd. (JAIDO)
  • Chair:  Mr. Yukio Ohuma, General Manager, Information and Policy Analysis Division, C. Itoh and Company, Ltd.
  • Mr. Michio Ishidate, Deputy Executive General Manager, Plant and Project Division, Tomen Corporation
  • Mr. Motoatsu Sakurai, Vice President and General Manager, Mitsubishi International Corporation, Washington, D.C.
  • Mr. Rokuro Nakaji, Deputy General Manager, Administrative and Legal Affairs Division, Honda Motor Company, Ltd.
  • Mr. Hideaki Domichi, Director, East European division, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Japan
  • Mr. Reiichi Shimamoto, Research Director General, The Japan Research Institute, Limited
  • Dr. Masaru Yoshitomi, Director General, Coordination Bureau, Economic Planning Agency, Government of Japan
  • Mr. Minoru Niki, Executive Vice President, NEC Corporation


  • Mr. Karl D. Jackson, Assistant to the Vice President of the United States, and National Security Advisor, White House
  • Mr. Frank Hofmann, Cousul, Consulate General of the United States of America, Osaka, Japan
  • Mr. Walter E. Ackerlund, Vice President, Far East Area, Hughes Aircraft International Service Company, Toyko
  • Dr. Michael Marrese, professor, Department of Economics, Northwestern University
  • Mr. Yasuaki Tsuchiya, Director, External Relations and Human Resources, General Electric Japan, Limited
  • Mr. Andrew Horvat, Tokyo Correspondent, American Public Radio, Tokyo, Japan
  • Mr. John N. Gonzalez, Managing Director, Oracle Corporation, Central Europe and USSR Region
  • Dr. Tomasz Mroczkowski, Associate Professor, International Business Department, American University
  • Mr. Paul White, Counsellor for Development Cooperation, Embassy of the United States of America, Tokyo
  • Dr. Marvin Bond, Executive Director, Water Resources Institute, Mississippi State University
  • Dr. S.L. Camacho, Chief Scientist of First Mississippi Corporation, Vice President of Plasma Energy Corporation
  • Dr. Nicholas Burakow, Senior Vice President, ICF International, Inc.
  • Chair:  Mr. Karl D. Jackson, Assistant to the Vice President of the United States, and National Security Advisor, White House
  • Chair:  Ambassador Robert L. Barry, Special Advisor for East-European Assistance, Office of the Deputy Secretary of State, U.S. Department of State
  • Mr. David N. Merrill, Deputy Assistant Administrator, Agency for International Development, Washington, D.C.



  • Dr. Martin Palous, Deputy Foreign Minister, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Prague, Czechoslovakia
  • Ambassador Jan Winkelhöfer, Ambassador of the Czech and Slovak Federal Republic, Embassy of the Czech and Slovak Federal Republic, Tokyo, Japan
  • Professor Karel Kouba, Institute of Economics, Charles University, Prague, Czechoslovakia
  • Ambassador Rita Klímová, Ambassador of the Czech and Slovak Federal Republic, Washington, D.C.
  • Dr. Jan Mikolás, Deputy Minister, Federal Committee for the Environment, Prague, Czechoslovakia

Republic of Hungary

  • Ambassador András Forgács, Ambassador of the Republic of Hungary, Embassy of Hungary, Tokyo, Japan
  • Dr. Zoltán Südy, Director General, Department for Asia and Pacific, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Budapest, Hungary
  • Chair:  Professor Béla Kádár, Minister, Ministry of International Economic Relations, Budapest, Hungary
  • Mr. Pál Kertész, President, Transelektro Trade Company Ltd., Budapest, Hungary
  • Mr. George D. Gould, former Under Secretary of the Treasury, and Vice Chairman, Hungarian-American Enterprise Fund
  • Mr. Sándor K. Keresztes, Minister, Environment and Regional Policy, Budapest, Hungary

Republic of Poland

  • Mr. Tadeusz Pawlak, Charge d’Affairs of Poland, Tokyo, Japan
  • Chair:  Dr. Witold Trzeciakowski, Head, Economic Council, Warsaw, Poland
  • Dr. Jacek Saryusz-Wolski, Council of Ministers, Government Plenipotentiary for European Integration and Foreign Aid, Warsaw, Poland
  • Dr. Zbigniew Piotrowski, President, Foreign Investment Agency, Warsaw, Poland
  • Mr. Macieji Nowicki, Minister of Environmental Protection, Natural Resources, and Forestry, Warsaw, Poland




| Updated: 03/11/2003 | Legal | Webmaster |